I’m not pushing right now

Thoughts while I while I make my fresh ginger tea…

This is the third morning that I slept late and taking it easy, I feel guilty.

My work load is much lighter this week and my goal was to tackle all house projects and catch-up on everything that has piled up… I hoped to transform into Jamie Sommers (The Bionic Woman) and do everything in a few hours.

The truth is, I am fatigued, I need downtime. What happened in the past when I overtaxed myself? I happen to get sick for at least a week. Have I learned this lesson yet or do I need to go through it again for the umpteenth time? So what, the apartment looks like a sorority house and my hair feels like hay? (Luckily I have the type of hair that no one notices the difference anyway.)

I was about to berate myself about wasting time, but that’s not what’s going on here…

The message I absorbed from society: Pushing myself means I’m good, resting means I’m bad. That belief system is outdated and doesn’t work for me. I am not lazy or irresponsible because I need rest… if I take time out to blog, I am not goofing off or fooling around…

Nothing is going according to MY plan… but, I did get a few loads of laundry done, I cleaned the kitchen, and I am working on a new meal plan (which is HUGE). I need to acknowledge my accomplishments. I tend to gloss over the good stuff I do and focus on what doesn’t get done. (Am I the only one who does that?)

I’m going with the flow, checking in with how I FEEL, finally listening to my body. Perhaps this is the first step towards balance? Cool. My week isn’t over and I may or may not cross 50 things off my to-do list, but, is having 50 things on my to-do list realistic? Or do I continue to set myself up, week after week, feeling bad for failing? How is that helpful in any way? What is a more BALANCED approach? Taking some time to make ginger tea is a start…

Living Authentically. 

About Tacey

I'm a free-spirit... Reiki is my way of life... but I also love the 80's, music, art, travel, fashion, tarot, astrology, numerology, yoga, home stuff... and encouraging others. Blogging, photography, and baking bread are my creative outlets... Life isn't always easy for me... but I'm here...
This entry was posted in Brooklyn, Dwelling, Health, Life Lessons, Lifestyle, Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’m not pushing right now

  1. Joel says:

    I have a to-do list 200 things deep…if you use ical/outlook or written notes. Sort out what NEEDS to be done in a week and put everything else in a separate folder/file. When you have free time you want to dedicate to a “to-do” then reach into that file and tackle it.
    Ginger tea rules!

  2. Sophie33 says:

    Going with the flow, is Sometimes really good,…don’t force yourself,…Enjoy life,.. ☺️

Leave a Reply

