Why the double-standard?

Why do some adults expect children to “be careful not to break anything” (which will most likely happen by accident), when adults purposefully destroy all the time? (Whose chastising or beating them??) Children are supposed to share… but adults don’t have to? Children are supposed to have manners… but grown-ups can be rude? (And so on…)

As I am spending more time with children, I become even more aware of my behavior… what I teach them should be the same as what I actually do…

Living Authentically.

About Tacey

I'm a free-spirit... Reiki is my way of life... but I also love the 80's, music, art, travel, fashion, tarot, astrology, numerology, yoga, home stuff... and encouraging others. Blogging, photography, and baking bread are my creative outlets... Life isn't always easy for me... but I'm here...
This entry was posted in Brooklyn, Life Lessons, NYC, Observations, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why the double-standard?

  1. Joel says:

    I never looked at it like that….very true indeed.

  2. Life is full of double-standards. Everyone is always more than happy to say “do as I say, not as I do”. It’s easier that way. It’s less responsibility for them. Destruction is a form of power. Grownups do it because they can. Little kids do it because they don’t really know any better. At least not when they’re very young.

  3. Catrece Ann Tipon says:

    AMEN!!

Leave a Reply

