The “evil” Captain Kirk and Mr. Spock present the necessity of our shadow selves and ego…

A few nights ago, very late, as I practiced standing yoga postures, I watched the original Star Trek on HULU. The Enemy Within. Of course, I’ve seen this before, but it never resonated like it did that night.

Basically, the crew went to some planet and when they came back on board the ship, they duplicated. The dog (dressed up in a crazy costume) now has an “evil” dog twin that barks and bites. So Scotty concluded that it would be dangerous to beam up the rest of the crew still on the planet because they can’t even say what would happen to a person… So of course, an “evil” Jim (with heavy black eyeliner) appeared when no one was looking. He drank a bit of brandy and then snuck into the Yeoman Janice’s room… After a few other mishaps with the “evil” Captain Kirk, Mr. Spock concluded that the only logical explanation is that there was an impostor on board.

The”real” James T. Kirk grew indecisive and wishy-washy… as he explains in the captain’s log: “Something has happened to me. Somehow in being duplicated, I have lost my strength of will. Decisions are becoming more and more difficult.” Then blah blah blah… a confrontation with the two Kirks and evil Jim was rendered unconscious by Spock’s Vulcan grip

With the other Kirk knocked out and under observation, Spock, Jim, and Bones discuss, and Spock finds this situation to be “… an opportunity to appraise the human mind… to examine the roles of good and evil in a man–his negative side, which you call hostility, lust, violence, and his positive side, which earth people express as compassion, love, tenderness…. What is it that makes one man an exceptional leader? We see here indications that it is his negative side which makes him strong, that his evil side, if you will, properly controlled and disciplined, is vital to his strength. Your negative side removed from you, the power of command begins to elude you.

(More back and forth… including Scotty working hard on the transporter to retrieve Sulu and the rest of the crew still on that planet which is now 75 degrees below zero. Yet Sulu manages to continue his jokes about room service and hot coffee through chattering teeth.)

J.T. continues to struggle, not fully understanding the complexities of the human mind… wondering how this “thoughtless, brutal animal” is a part of him…

While handing him a brandy, Bones tell Kirk: Jim, you’re no different than anyone else. We all have our darker side. We need it! It’s half of what we are. It’s not really ugly, it’s human. (Easy for him to say, he is usually cantankerous anyway.)
Kirk: Human?
Bones: Yes, human. A lot of what he is makes you the man you are. God forbid I should have to agree with Spock. But he was right. Without the negative side you wouldn’t be the captain…. your strength of command lies mostly in him…
(Jim still confused.)
Bones adding: … man’s essential courage comes from the good part… the “evil” Jim was afraid and the “good” Jim wasn’t…

(Blah blah blah, another dramatic confrontation with the two Kirks and it is resolved. Even Sulu and the crew manage to survive the 117 degrees below zero temperature and escape with just frostbite…)

Wo. Wo. Wo. So J.T.’s ability to be an effective captain comes from that “negative” side driven by EGO? He gets his strength from that half?? Ohhh, so the ego isn’t “evil” like I thought it was. And since I relate everything to my life, my growth, my world… I see the lessons in everything… I have issues with authority BIG TIME… because I REJECTED my authority and power. I always want to rid myself of any traces of shadow self behavior because I’ve mostly only dealt with enormous egos that turned into nasty narcissism from those who had “power” over me. So by denying my power, I easily became a doormat… using my voice less and less (except to wail, which I am good at) until I had none…

I am now working with the chakras to tap into the energy from the Solar Plexus, which governs our self-confidence, personal power, and will. (At some point I will blog about my chakra discoveries.) I do need the ego to survive… The trick is creating a healthy balance… to not let it take over completely, nor attempt to suppress it…

I have nothing else to offer at this time because I JUST began to touch on this… I love watching old shows. I learn so much…

Living Authentically.

About Tacey

I'm a free-spirit... Reiki is my way of life... but I also love the 80's, music, art, travel, fashion, tarot, astrology, numerology, yoga, home stuff... and encouraging others. Blogging, photography, and baking bread are my creative outlets... Life isn't always easy for me... but I'm here...
This entry was posted in Life Lessons, Lifestyle, Observations, Philosophies, Relationships, Self Improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The “evil” Captain Kirk and Mr. Spock present the necessity of our shadow selves and ego…

  1. Pingback: Perth Solar | The “evil” Captain Kirk and Mr. Spock present the necessity of our shadow selves and ego… | Perth Solar | Solar Power Perth

Leave a Reply

