off the hip in black and white, a nod to Gene Lowinger

While I’m organizing my workflow and cleaning out the computer, I found this from early spring…

man in line-1

I was meting a friend later on, but had time for some sushi and street photography. Fifth Avenue and 59th Street seemed like a vibrant intersection to eat and people watch. With my Fuji in tow, as I approached the corner, I saw a guy with a camera in his and a cigar dangling from his mouth. I could tell he was a professional. Jokingly, he said, Hey, this is my corner! He gave me his card and we talked shop a bit. From that small exchange, I learned some different street photography methods… like editing in black and white and shooting from the hip… Check out his blog: Gene Lowinger.

Living Authentically.

About Tacey

I'm a free-spirit... Reiki is my way of life... but I also love the 80's, music, art, travel, fashion, tarot, astrology, numerology, yoga, home stuff... and encouraging others. Blogging, photography, and baking bread are my creative outlets... Life isn't always easy for me... but I'm here...
This entry was posted in Communication, Hobbies, Observations, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to off the hip in black and white, a nod to Gene Lowinger

  1. wherethedaytakesme says:

    I love it. Makes you wonder about the people, where are they going, what their life might be like in such a busy city.

  2. Sophie33 says:

    That’s so cool that you met a peson & learned new things! this is a very cool shot,..I love it!

  3. Joel says:

    love the viewpoint!

    • Tacey says:

      I know, right? Thanks! I copied him! I was trying to be all “undercover” and the bag from my sushi started to blow away mid shot!

Leave a Reply

