Between the tree and me

Dogwood-1

Prospect Park, Brooklyn

Since Reiki training, I have taken daily walks in the park… inhaling fresh air and appreciating the beauty surrounding me… All of a sudden, I want to identify trees, bushes, flowers… is this a Dogwood Tree? Anyway, I used to take nature for granted, unless I was hiking or on vacation. But, why can’t I take respite right here in my backyard? I can’t believe I just ignored Prospect Park for YEARS! The other evening, while it was still raining, I had the park practically all to myself. It was wonderful, but the paranoia stirred up… I kept thinking a killer was going to pop out of the trees! While I do have to be careful, there was no need to be scared. Several police cars were making their rounds, I was safe (ish). At some point, I unplugged my ear buds, switching from 80’s music to blaring Mozart. The park was empty, so I wasn’t disturbing anyone, and really, who would be agitated by Mozart? Well, it was surely surreal and I forgot I was in Brooklyn…

As I’m fully enjoying the solitude in the cool evening air, a tree called out to me… Come say hello, and see what life’s about… I stopped my brisk stride and obliged. Approaching slowly, as my feet sunk into the earth, I asked, May I? The area around it seemed so sacred and I wanted to be respectful… of course, the tree did not answer. I crept in and touched the trunk, ever so gently, with the tips of my fingers. Come closer, it beckoned. What was I afraid of besides bugs? Tentatively, I placed one hand on the trunk… then the other… then my feet started to tingle… (Who cares if I look silly?) Oh dear tree, what can you teach me? What do I need to see? I felt the energy emanating. Stable. Strong. Rooted. Grounded. Beautiful Mother Earth has opened her arms to me… After a while, I sadly turned away, leaving my new friend… then my feet took over and I started to RUN (more like jogging, but I am not a jogger – YET…) because I felt so free…

So what happened? Well, that’s between the tree and me!

Living Authentically.

About Tacey

I'm a free-spirit... Reiki is my way of life... but I also love the 80's, music, art, travel, fashion, tarot, astrology, numerology, yoga, home stuff... and encouraging others. Blogging, photography, and baking bread are my creative outlets... Life isn't always easy for me... but I'm here...
This entry was posted in Beauty, Brooklyn, Communication, Hobbies, Observations, Photography, Random Thoughts, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Between the tree and me

  1. Sophie33 says:

    Good for you! A lovely picture too!

Leave a Reply

