Making healthier choices and saving money with an avocado smoothie

Avocado smoothie-1Making food choices for eating healthy can be quite stressful for me. First off, I still don’t understand why everything I like is THE most expensive in the store. Secondly, when I’m out all day, and starving, I can’t seem to find anything besides an open salad bar, which is already making me queasy with the thought of a million people near my food! One day last month, while running errands, I needed to eat something pronto, but on-the-go. I grabbed some KIND Bars from the health food store, but I wanted a bit more… something nutritional and not in a package. The “Avocadolada” smoothie jumped out at me. I liked it so much, I went back for another one later that week, and then decided I could make it at home and save money.

Avocado smoothie 2-1

Avocado Smoothie:
Avocado
Coconut Juice
Lime
Honey or Agave

To make it healthier, use real coconut JUICE (not coconut water) without a bunch of added crappola in it. (Why is there so much sugar in store-bought wheat bread? That is why I make my own!) I don’t have exact measurements, but experiment to see what taste you like best. For example, I use a whole lime, but you may want to use just half. I made one last night and this morning. So yummy! At some point, I will try out some of the recipes below.

Living Authentically. 

About Tacey

I'm a free-spirit... Reiki is my way of life... but I also love the 80's, music, art, travel, fashion, tarot, astrology, numerology, yoga, home stuff... and encouraging others. Blogging, photography, and baking bread are my creative outlets... Life isn't always easy for me... but I'm here...
This entry was posted in Brooklyn, Dwelling, Food/Dining, Health, Lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Making healthier choices and saving money with an avocado smoothie

  1. Bubba says:

    Sounds delicious. But it needs some protein IMO. Rice or soy protein powder or tofu. Add that, and you can go for hours on this.

  2. Kareen says:

    Hey Tacey! I forgot how good avocado smoothies can be. I’ve never thought to combine it with coconut juice before. This sounds amazing! For protein, you can also throw in some almonds.

  3. Sophie33 says:

    Great minds think alike: I just made another avocado smoothy with strawberries, 1 banana, 1 avocado & unsweetened soy yoghurt: yummy too! I love your version a lot!

Leave a Reply

