Reiki lesson about anxiety, money, manifestation, and living in my truth

Sunday was unexpectedly long, starting off with a birthday bash for one of the children I take care of. Before I left the house that morning, I reluctantly grabbed my phone charger. The idea just popped into my head. I didn’t know why because my plan was to come home after a short visit, following the festivities…

Bday girl 2-1The party was wonderful… youngsters running around, laughing and crafting… yelling because they could… Of course, parents were trying to tame the chaos, but the kids were completely sugared up after cake. (My kind of kids that eat mostly non-processed food!) I introduced myself to parents as H.’s childcare alternate. (She has a main sitter.) I’m mostly available with a bit of notice, or last-minute, to cover days off and inconvenient schedule changes. My intention was not to procure work, but to get over fears of meeting new people and not sit in a corner like a douf. However, I distributed my cards, and mentioned that I can help with home projects and organization, personal assistance, and tarot. (My new cards will include Reiki!) They all concurred that my flexibility (and tarot reading skill) is an asset, and will be passing my name around their group. I felt valued and useful. One of the mothers asked, “Are you available tonight?” and whisked away to get another mother who desperately needed a night out with her husband. I knew of her two children already because H. always talks about her friends… Anyway, 7:30/19:30 that evening, I was at new gig!! That’s why I needed the charger, I was out all day! Using the camera and Instagram sucks up the battery.

In the morning, after meditating on the Reiki precepts, I stopped worrying about finances… I want to buy a floor pillow for meditation, a new tarot deck, a camera bag, yoga/fitness apparel, and more. Also, I didn’t know how I would get the money to pay for Reiki 2 in a few months just from my current gigs, but LOOK WHAT HAPPENED WHEN I LET GO OF WORRY!! Reiki isn’t something that I just do, it is becoming a way of life for me.

When the parents explained to the older boy (L.), that they would have a new babysitter for the evening, he accepted me immediately because I’m H.’s babysitter. The parents tried to put the younger one to bed before I got there since it was my first time with them. But he heard my voice and wanted to see what was going on. They were only going to be a block away so if he became inconsolable, one parent would come back. I honestly didn’t foresee any issues. As soon as I walked in, L. asked if I could play chess. The truth is that I can’t play, but I told him I would if he could help me. Clearly, he was just learning, enthusiastic and eager, and I’m sure his parents can’t play chess with him all day. There was no way I would turn him down, even though my brain was mush. It hurts when you want to play a game and no one can make time for you. A child cannot understand anything about the world of adults, even if you explain it to them. So, with no real knowledge, I played chess… and yeah, the five-year-old kicked my behind! But I finally learned how the pieces move! He gladly shared his tips with me, and wasn’t at all pompous. I love smart children, but I cannot deal with arrogance and huge egos. Now I’m motivated to learn. Yes, I’m adding that to the growing list of new things I’ve already taken on this year…

chess-1

Chess

Juggling two small kids, chatting and pulling me at the same time is not easy, but fun! I love nurturing their little souls. We ended up playing several other games so baby R. could play…

Hungry Hippos-1

Hungry Hungry Hippos

The children stayed up later than usual so they could get to know me. But I eventually gave them the let’s-get-ready-for-bed countdown… half an hour… 15 minutes… 10 minutes… 5 minutes… then it was time for clean-up and choosing books to read… NO PROBLEMS!! The little one pulled out a sing-along book… so I screeched sang “Old McDonald, London Bridge, BINGO…” I tucked him in and took the cat out of the room, who was climbing all over me. One down, one to go. After two books based on Japanese culture, (LOVING the separate slippers for the bathroom, CAN I DO THAT IN MY HOME? I have OCD with germs…) I tucked him in and told him to have sweet dreams. The jubilant parents returned, grateful to have a date night! They asked if I was interested in coming back, and if she can share my information with her cousin… YES!

Back to the party… I was completely at ease among children and their parents… No one passed judgement about my freelance gigs. One person told me a few years ago, “… it doesn’t make sense that you don’t do this full-time for one family, you can make a lot of money…” I am more interested in keeping my days flexible, helping as many people as I can, but still allowing time for my own endeavors. (Why do people feel they need to “correct” my choices? It was clearly HER fear about money that she was projecting on to me. And at that time, I clung on to that fear…)

It is only a week after Reiki training… I let go of worry – just for the day – putting myself out there with no pretenses. I let everyone SEE me as I am… I let them HEAR me… and they still want me to watch their precious ones, I am truly honored! I continue to be teachable now, I have much to learn from a five-year-old… or from any situation…

I feel empowered because I received that gig by living in my truth…

Living Authentically.

About Tacey

I'm a free-spirit... Reiki is my way of life... but I also love the 80's, music, art, travel, fashion, tarot, astrology, numerology, yoga, home stuff... and encouraging others. Blogging, photography, and baking bread are my creative outlets... Life isn't always easy for me... but I'm here...
This entry was posted in Communication, Dwelling, Life Lessons, Observations, Philosophies, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reiki lesson about anxiety, money, manifestation, and living in my truth

  1. Kareen says:

    Sounds like a wonderful time with the kids! Sometimes things need to go the other way around–adults can learn many things from children! I’m glad that you are learning to let go of worry. I’m working on that myself as I’m about to do a big move and sometimes I feel paralyzed with uncertainty, unable to really get much done. Would love to learn how reiki helps you to let go of your worries.

Leave a Reply

