Words can hurt, but flip the script

IMG_4352I just made a mistake and called myself stupid four times in a row. I cringe when I hear friends say that about themselves. It literally pains me when others put themselves down. Yet, it’s acceptable for me to do that to myself? Maybe most people don’t have this problem, but I’m not the only one. So I wrote this, crossed it out and I ripped it up to be done with it. I don’t want ANY of the children I take care of to EVER EVER hear me say that. And they won’t.

Somewhat related, my script just changed. It is no longer: I can’t do this or that because of such and such… it is now, I CAN do this or that, despite such and such. Sharing with the wrong people was key for me. I had people in my life who may not use the word stupid, but implied that I was incompetent in every other way. With the constant questions, suggestions, nagging, doubts… that my way is always ‘wrong’ and their way is always ‘right,’ they made it clear how they felt about me. I believed them though, because hey, why would they lie, right? But the reality is, other people have their issues, so I can’t adopt them as my own. Words can hurt, but I have the power to flip the script.

Living Authentically.

About Tacey

I'm a free-spirit... Reiki is my way of life... but I also love the 80's, music, art, travel, fashion, tarot, astrology, numerology, yoga, home stuff... and encouraging others. Blogging, photography, and baking bread are my creative outlets... Life isn't always easy for me... but I'm here...
This entry was posted in Life Lessons, Observations, Random Thoughts, Self Improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Words can hurt, but flip the script

  1. Aminta says:

    Yes …TaceyAnne please remember that you have the power to flip the script. Love you lots.

  2. Hello, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog site in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that,
    wonderful blog!

  3. Kareen says:

    Hi Taces, it takes a long time to break habits. But I’m glad you recognize and want to change the negative voice that’s in your head. For me, I get angry so easily over very small things. It’s taken me years and years to learn how to breathe through negative thought patterns. And yoga and meditation has helped me out a lot with that. Hope you’re having a great day today! 🙂

  4. Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s
    new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be bookmarking
    and checking back frequently!

  5. Thank you for any other excellent article. Where else may anyone get that kind of info in such a perfect way of
    writing? I’ve a presentation subsequent week, and I am on the look for such info.

Leave a Reply

