I can’t just WISH for healthier bread, so I roasted garlic…

Mercury Retrograde is over now, it’s time for action. My friend said a few days ago, If something is important to you and you want it, you need to take real steps, not just wishes, to make it happen. Her advice wasn’t for me specifically, but it pertains…

I have food issues (who doesn’t?) and I hoped it would resolve itself. Then I thought I needed to see a nutritionist or a professional. (Trust me, it’s not that deep.) I have a problem with portions, overcooked vegetables, and too many foods mixed together… I don’t like this and I don’t like that, I only like this without that, only that with this... Healthier foods appeal to me, but I get bored with the same tastes. Food preparation and nutrition was an interest years ago, but for too many reasons to get into, I never thought I’d be in the kitchen again. However, my penchant for cooking increases each time I read a blog entry from sophiesfoodiefiles.wordpress.comemilycooksvegan.comglutenfreegus.com, and rantingchef.com. So, at this point, there is no reason not to go a step further and create exactly what I want to eat. And have fun doing it, too.

One concern is that American store-bought whole wheat bread can taste like sugar or cardboard, unless I spend a lot of dough. (tee-hee!) But, with a bit of planning and kitchen organization, I should be able to make bread on the regular. Yesterday, I roasted garlic for the bread that is rising beautifully for a second time. The oven is pre-heating now…

Roasting pre-peeled garlic: Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit. Use foil to line a pie plate or shallow baking dish. Position your garlic cloves (I used 24) in the center of the foil, drizzle olive oil on top. Add optional salt and/or pepper. Cover tightly with foil. Depending on your oven, the garlic should be soft in 45 minutes. (Just check it.) YUM!

photo-12

In a few hours, I’ll take photos for my bread chronicles…

Living Authentically.

About Tacey

I'm a free-spirit... Reiki is my way of life... but I also love the 80's, music, art, travel, fashion, tarot, astrology, numerology, yoga, home stuff... and encouraging others. Blogging, photography, and baking bread are my creative outlets... Life isn't always easy for me... but I'm here...
This entry was posted in Dwelling, Life Lessons, Observations, Random Thoughts, Self Improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I can’t just WISH for healthier bread, so I roasted garlic…

  1. you are making me hungry tacey.lol

  2. LOL.. you do have to spend a lot of dough…..on bread to taste good.

  3. Aminta says:

    Beautiful photo! Can be done for any recipe that calls for roasted garlic, mmm see what you started.

Leave a Reply

