Photography is like the game Operation, it takes a very steady hand… or you will get dancing seahorses

This is the same day as the stroll on Amsterdam Avenue… We are now taking photos of the Brooklyn Bridge, by the waterfront, close to the Manhattan Bridge. I was cold and wanted to go home, but intrigued that so many were out with tripods, including David. Why was a tripod necessary? At first I used the iPhone. HA! Useless. With gloveless freezing fingers, I pulled out the Fuji HS20, thinking, well, I don’t want a perfect photo, I will just keep my hands still. Again, HA! So I learned my first lessons on shutter speed and steadiness…

DSCF3029

dancing seahorses

DSCF3031

melting skyline

DSCF3034

blur blur

I love surprise blurry photos, but c’mon! David offered to help set up my camera on the tripod and voilà…

DSCF3039

First attempt at self-portrait…

DSCF3041

I needed more light so David used the flashlight from his phone to illuminate me. (Where did that idea come from?), but I moved…

DSCF3044

I found it difficult to stand for a whopping 12 seconds, hence the strange look on my face, but here is self-portrait #7. (And as I predicted, I’m already bored with self-portraits…)

DSCF3047

self-portrait #7

My favorite pic of the day, taken by David with the Canon 5D.

IMG_5368

What I learned this night, the tripod is essential for shooting at slower shutter speeds and have an extra light source. Also, I asked for help.

Living Authentically.

About Tacey

I'm a free-spirit... Reiki is my way of life... but I also love the 80's, music, art, travel, fashion, tarot, astrology, numerology, yoga, home stuff... and encouraging others. Blogging, photography, and baking bread are my creative outlets... Life isn't always easy for me... but I'm here...
This entry was posted in Beauty, Dwelling, Hobbies, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Photography is like the game Operation, it takes a very steady hand… or you will get dancing seahorses

  1. neastreetartist says:

    I like the dancing seahorses…great shot.

  2. marcelino guerrero says:

    Ditto; the seas horses was a great capture.

  3. Sophie33 says:

    Great pics even the lesser one’s! 🙂

  4. Joel says:

    Love the progression here. You know those ol time photos…you had to stand still for 30-40 seconds. Imagine getting a baby or child to do that. Well when you see those from the early 1900’s they had to do that.

Leave a Reply

