A Waschbär is not a squirrel and 2 quotes from Ernest Hemingway

“When people talk, listen completely. Most people never listen.” Ernest Hemingway

How annoying is it when someone is constantly interrupting you to finish your sentences? Have you ever been guilty of this? As much as it annoys me, I am guilty of it. Below, an excerpt from a conversation between my German friend Sabine, David, and me:

Sabine: We saw a Waschbär (pronounced wash-bear) –
Me: (Jumping in) You mean a squirrel?
Sabine: No, that’s a –
Me: (Jumping in again) a beaver?
Sabine: No, uh-
Me: (Jumping in yet again) A skunk?
Sabine: No, that’s a Stinktier
Me: (Jumping in for the last time) You sure you don’t mean a squirrel? Or-
David: (to me) Let her finish… this isn’t charades!
Me: Oh, yeah… sorry!!
Sabine: It is a racoon…
Me: Ohhhhhhh, racooooooooon!
And we all laughed…

images-1

Yes, it was funny, but I was interrupting from the start, and this wasn’t a guessing game! Afterwards, I apologized because it was extremely poor etiquette, and I know better. I get carried away so easily, excited like a little kid. But even if I think I know what someone will say, I shouldn’t chime in. It is rude and I don’t like it done to me. What’s the point of a conversation then, if I won’t listen? Starting today, I will talk less and listen more. In the same vein, my opinions and thoughts don’t always have to be voiced. That’s what my blog is for.

“A writer should write what he has to say and not speak it.” Ernest Hemingway

Living Authentically.

About Tacey

I'm a free-spirit... Reiki is my way of life... but I also love the 80's, music, art, travel, fashion, tarot, astrology, numerology, yoga, home stuff... and encouraging others. Blogging, photography, and baking bread are my creative outlets... Life isn't always easy for me... but I'm here...
This entry was posted in Communication, Life Lessons, Observations, Self Improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Waschbär is not a squirrel and 2 quotes from Ernest Hemingway

  1. wherethedaytakesme says:

    I too have the same problem, It is hard to break when I’ve done it for so long, I know this was one of the problems between Joshua and I. Not ever letting him complete his sentence before I would just jump in and interrupt, it is tiring and it is rude, and it had to be pointed out to me so many times, I think I am finally getting it though. It is a work in progress, everyday is a work in progress. It is good to know I am not the only one. With help and working on it, things will progress.

  2. Aminta says:

    Thank you for reminding me. I’m guilty of that it takes patience to let others finish sometimes we learn more, if we let others finish speaking. My opinion is not all that important, unless I am asked for it.

  3. stormotter says:

    Hahaha! I love this.

  4. LOL@ David’s comment: “This isn’t charades”. My co-worker needs to read this. LOL

  5. Pingback: Pokerface | FunPhotoLolz

Leave a Reply

