I received The Liebster Award! and the madness commences…

First thoughts upon being nominated: I received a Liebster award! Totally unexpected and encouraging, but what does this mean? Hopefully it leads to more traffic… and that’s a good thing, right? Then, I panicked. The flood of self-doubt kicked in… I wanted to instantly delete my blog and be done. But, there is no right or wrong to this. Just jump in! This is a bit of work, for sure, but so worth it.

S00o a HUGE thank you to http://jadedapothecary.wordpress.com – you must must visit. I say must must, because few people can make me laugh. The first time I visited his blog, in one post, THE TITLE ALONE, had me laughing so hard that I didn’t read it until the next day.

Anyway, here are the Liebster Award Rules:

1. Post 11 things about yourself
2. Answer the questions given to you by the nominator
3. Nominate 11 blogs (newer, up and coming blogs, with less than (or thereabouts) 200 followers) and inform them
4. Compose 11 new questions for your nominees
5. And don’t forget to post of the Liebster Award Badge to your page (grab it from the internet)

images-1

11 facts about me:
1. My favorite foods are the most hated among my friends: olives, brussels sprouts, mushrooms, cucumbers, pickles, tomatoes, beets, avocados, fois gras/paté, radishes, and fish. And I really dislike potatoes.

2. My patience for nonsense is decreasing with age. So is my tolerance for meanies, liars, and those who take no responsibility. I refuse to be around any abusers of any kind.

3. I LOVE good Brooklyn pizza. I never eat the crusts.

4. This blog is a tremendous accomplishment because it proves I’m still standing, I’m not broken. (And of, course I’m singing the Elton John song right now… I’m still standing… yeah yeah yeah…)

5. I take care of children because I want to be “that” adult in their lives that NEVER harmed them in any way. Little ones must have advocates other than their primary caregivers. Also, it drives me INSANE when I see kids with chips and soda and cookies for meals.

6. Although I live in unpredictable and crazy NYC, I help strangers all the time. They are unsure and surprised, but whatever… I’ll give someone a swipe on an unlimited Metrocard or help with packages or offer a tissue… Helping others is natural. It makes me feel good that I made someone’s day a bit easier, even for a moment. Hopefully, they will pass on the kindness.

7. Just about the only celebrities I can tolerate are mostly gay/lesbian entertainers (and comedians in general) because they are honest. Alan Cummings has the coolest Instagram photos and Wanda Sykes is hilarious. (She is black, gay, and married to a white woman? People must really hate her, but she who is she is… LOVE!)

8. My dream is to design a hands-free bathroom: automatic toilet flush, automatic sink, automatic soap dispenser and the toilet cleans itself.

9. In another life, I had a home furnishings store. Michael J. Fox visited once, and I blurted out, My God, it’s Alex P. Keaton. He was quite gracious and bought a blue bookcase.

10. I only just discovered last month that if I don’t create something DAILY, I’m a miserable human. (Or rather my husband picked up on this fact and then encouraged me to work through my issues and blog.)

11. It is extremely difficult to wash a sink filled with various items. All glassware, I can manage. All of one item, I can manage. Maybe silverware and one other type of thing. It confuses me.

12. Odd numbers make me uncomfortable. Especially temperature settings. I can deal with numbers ending in 5 though. So obviously, 11 facts about me falls into this category. So I added the 12th.

11 (tough and fun) questions from: http://jadedapothecary.wordpress.com

1. Do you feel like you were destined to become a writer? And by that I mean, do you kind of feel like that scene in Sister Act 2: Back In The Habit when Whoopi Goldberg tells Lauryn Hill that if she wakes up in the morning and can only think about singing, then she’s meant to be a singer? Is Whoopi Goldberg saying to you, “You’re meant to be a writer, girl!”…or guy?
HA! HA! Not exactly…. But I address this question in this post. Inspired by Ernest (why I write)

2. Since I can’t cook, I’d love to read about your worst cooking disaster. Go on now. Make me feel better about myself.
The only thing I can remember is a steak that caught fire when I was about 17. Somehow I managed to wet a dishcloth and throw it over the pan. And waited for my mother to get home… I wanted to lie, but it was obvious something burned. Surprisingly, I didn’t get in trouble.

3. If you were a tree, what tree would you be? And don’t you roll your eyes at me. They ask this question during corporate “development” sessions for a reason. I don’t know what that reason is, but still. I’d like to know your answer. 
Easy… Palm Tree. I prefer warmer climates.

4. What’s the last television show you gave up on watching because you just couldn’t deal with it anymore?
American Idol.

5. What’s your favorite holiday?
Christmas in New York City means holiday lights, Alvin Ailey and Bailey’s Irish Cream.

untitled-00001

6. Did you, like me, have a panic attack (but a good one) when you first realized that people in other countries were reading your work?
I’m still getting used to anyone reading a post in the United States!

7. If you could make a difference in the world (and I’m talking about a genuine, magical difference…not the Miss America crap), what would it be?
Really tough question. But for now, it is to support people (who suffer from anxieties, disorders, abuse, depression, low self-esteem, like me) to heal emotionally because we can  be of better service to others once we love ourselves. But that’s too general. So I guess the blog is a start.

8. I can’t watch the commercial for the ASPCA without crying uncontrollably for 20 minutes, clutching my own dog and loving on him until he literally forces himself away from me, and, sometimes, placing a quick call to my therapist. Can you? I mean, it’s sad!
Funny, you should ask… About a year ago, I watched a news story about an abused dog, rescued by a great guy. He won some dog shows and is totally loved and cared for. But I was crying uncontrollably because I couldn’t get past the abuse. I stopped watching the news immediately after that. So no, neither can I!

9. Do you have any friends in your life who date back to your childhood?
Yes, a few. And one of them just reminded me about the time I acted like Prince for a year. I’ll see you when the moon is blue. (What does that even mean?) She explained that I didn’t really give a crap what anyone thought. Looking back, I’m sure it was extremely annoying.

10. What’s your favorite color, and what do you think it says about you as a person?
It was pink – not baby, hot pink or fuchsia. I suppose it meant that I wanted to be a pampered prissy princess. But I’m outgrowing pink. I like primary colors now. I think it says that I am playful and willing to take risks creatively.

11. When you travel, do you ever wish you could pull someone aside, open their suitcase, pull out a different outfit, throw it at them, and then send them to the restroom shouting, “You will change into this right now, because as things stand, you look ridiculous. Who let you believe this was okay? You’re in an airport, ma’am! Pajama jeans and an old Body Glove t-shirt are unacceptable!” Explain.
I …….. can’t…… even……. I can’t stop laughing to answer the question. Seriously.

List of nominees:

1.http://wherethedaytakesme.wordpress.com

2. http://pam2626.wordpress.com (So,…hear me)

3. http://coffeencardigans.wordpress.com

4. http://lexlewis.wordpress.com

5. http://curiositesdenicole.wordpress.com

6. http://stormotter.wordpress.com

7. http://brooklynhouselove.com

8. http://brunenji.wordpress.com

9. http://notnecessarilyrelevant.wordpress.com

10. http://animatingyourlife.com

11. http://itstartedwithaquote.wordpress.com

11 question to my nominees:

1. Have you ever done something you said you’d never do?
2. If you had a magical power, what would it be? (Besides erasing the mouths of mean people, that would be my power.)
3. Are you bothered and confused by Suri Cruise and J.Crew child models? They are completely adorable, but resemble little adults. Thoughts?

Unknown
4. What is your favorite 80’s song? Don’t tell me you don’t have one. You have 10 years of music to choose from.
5. Do you drink at least 8 glasses of water a day? And drink coffee? If yes, tell me how you manage that without always having to pee. I really want to know.
6. What was the impetus behind creating a blog?
7. Do you have any art on your walls? Take a photo.

mail
8. Let’s pretend you are Indiana Jones. What would be the hardest challenge… snakes, rats, heights, or falling into the ocean?
9. What is the last thing that made you laugh out loud?
10. Let’s face it, creatives think outside the box. Did you always know that you were a creative person? If yes, did you struggle to conform or did you always embrace it?
11. Name one lesson or something about yourself that you learned last year.

Finis. Now go spread some love…

Living Authentically.

About Tacey

I'm a free-spirit... Reiki is my way of life... but I also love the 80's, music, art, travel, fashion, tarot, astrology, numerology, yoga, home stuff... and encouraging others. Blogging, photography, and baking bread are my creative outlets... Life isn't always easy for me... but I'm here...
This entry was posted in Brooklyn, Dwelling, Fashion, Food/Dining, Health, Hobbies, Home-caring, Humor/Fun, J.Crew, Life Lessons, Music, Observations, Philosophies, Photography, Random Thoughts, Relationships, Self Improvement, Travel, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I received The Liebster Award! and the madness commences…

  1. jadedapothecary says:

    Fabulous! I love the responses! =)

  2. Joel says:

    Congrats!!! That is awesome. I enjoy reading your blogging and your posted pictures!!

  3. Maya says:

    Thank you for the nomination, I am so humbled! Healing from my LASIK surgery now but once I’m better I will get to answering your 11 questions! Thanks again! 🙂

  4. McVeggy says:

    Did I ever write you on this say and say wowowowowo congrats??? If not, wowowowowowo and congrats!!!!

    what’s happening now as a result???

Leave a Reply

