THINK before you speak

Sometimes I wonder if people actually think about what they are saying before they say it. What do you get out of saying mean things to others? No, really, what is the point? I wish I could take credit for this (but then I would be LYING), but I found it years ago, as a side note in my Bible. It always stuck with me, but I wasn’t following it. I was too busy being pissed off and suffocating in self-pity. (I have no problem owning my stuff.) Before you open up your mouth, really THINK about what you are saying and why…

T – is it the truth?

H – is it helpful?

I – is it inspirational?

N – is it necessary?

K – is it kind?

(Hmmmm, I could use this as a guideline for blogging, too.)

Living Authentically.

About Tacey

I'm a free-spirit... Reiki is my way of life... but I also love the 80's, music, art, travel, fashion, tarot, astrology, numerology, yoga, home stuff... and encouraging others. Blogging, photography, and baking bread are my creative outlets... Life isn't always easy for me... but I'm here...
This entry was posted in Communication, Life Lessons, Observations, Philosophies, Self Improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to THINK before you speak

  1. wherethedaytakesme says:

    Awesome. I know I have been guilty of doing these things. Knowing that I need to think about what comes out of my mouth now is so important to me. I wish that I had been practicing it years ago. But knowing it now really helps me stay on track with things.

  2. slepsnor says:

    I think most people are too busy to think or they get too emotional. There’s also a bizarre rise in people thinking there are no consequences for their words and actions. I’ve had somebody insult me to my face as if he was on an internet forum because I happened to not be into hunting. It’s was like he thought he could say whatever he wanted to me and I couldn’t do anything about it. Maybe it’s just easier to be hateful and mean?

    • Tacey B. says:

      Horrible that someone was mean to you!
      …I stopped giving advice because I’m trying to figure out MY life. I can be supportive of someone EVEN when I don’t agree with their choices. But there are those who insist on giving me instructions on what I “should” do, yet their lives are in shambles.

      And thanks for stopping by! I look forward to reading your work later today…

      • slepsnor says:

        You’re welcome.
        I’ve been bullied since childhood and I’ve adopted the belief that it’s really the bully that has the problem. As for advice, I think a lot of people want to help others that they see as ‘in trouble’. I wonder if it stems from a desire to be admired as a hero or acknowledged for people a nice person. I simply wait until somebody asks for my opinion.

  3. Aminta says:

    So true! We know this but we don’t practice it. Thanks for reminding me. I am going to make a concerted effort from now on.

  4. You know how I feel about people who do not think before they speak and you also know how fast I shut them down. Example:
    Him: Your hair looks different
    Me: We will not have small talk about my hair today
    Him: But your make-up is different too. It looks a little more bronze
    Me: Again, we are not having small talk about my hair or my make up
    This person is a repeat offender of insulting me. I have learned to stop him at the gate.

Leave a Reply

