But I got flowers and candy on Valentine’s Day.

He made me shave the scant baby hairs on my arm.
He forced me to throw out ALL my Prince paraphernalia because “you love him more than you love me.”
Once, he punched the wall, instead of my face. I hid the hole with a Three Amigos movie poster.
He showed up at my home or school at whatever time when I tried to break up with him.
Another time, I tried to call my mother, he disconnected the phone, locked me in the pantry and proceeded to boil water… (I am now slightly claustrophobic)
“Obviously” it was “my fault.”  I “deserved” it.  I “made” him do it.
And this is all I care to share.
I was 16.
I thought he loved me because he gave me flowers and candy on Valentine’s Day.

Living Authentically.

About Tacey

I'm a free-spirit... Reiki is my way of life... but I also love the 80's, music, art, travel, fashion, tarot, astrology, numerology, yoga, home stuff... and encouraging others. Blogging, photography, and baking bread are my creative outlets... Life isn't always easy for me... but I'm here...
This entry was posted in Dwelling, Life Lessons, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to But I got flowers and candy on Valentine’s Day.

  1. wherethedaytakesme says:

    Very powerful, Love should never hurt. God is Love.

  2. what an awful psychopathic waste of oxygen he is. i’m sorry he gave you ptsd.

  3. Bubba says:

    Amazing post.

  4. xavier says:

    I remember the “times”. It’s just too bad that some people don’t come with warning lables attached to the back of the ear. If someone is truely precious to you, don’t won’t wait till Valentine’s Day to act like it.

    Love ya, And Have a very Happy Valentine’s Day Luv!

  5. marcelino guerrero says:

    candy or no candy, he’s the answer to too many question you don’t want to ask!

  6. Kareen says:

    It’s horrible that you went through an abusive relationship like that. I know it’s very personal but I’m glad you wrote this. I think it’s important for women to share their stories and support and learn from each other.

    • Tacey B. says:

      Thanks. I am in a great partnership now, but woke up thinking of other women. I was going to post something fun but that came out instead… quite easily though.

  7. An issue so close to my heart. Thanks

Leave a Reply

