Another ‘never say never’ moment in Alès… (and the reality back home)

After a day filled with love and affection from my new French-Algerian family, I pounced on the opportunities to show courage… going outside my comfort zone…

We spent an enchanting morning in Nîmes (south of France) with our hosts. In the afternoon, back in Alès, we shared a wonderful lunch, including a peach pie made from their tree and fresh mint tea. My family encouraged me to repose, repose… tu est fatigue (rest, recline… you are tired) and covered me with warm blankets. Feeling unencumbered and connecting with nature… I did something I could never do before: sleep outside and walk on grass with my bare feet! (I’m immensely agitated and crazed by bugs and creepy crawlies… the buzzing, the landing on my body and I don’t know where they’ve been, the possibility of a sting…) There was even a spider on my chair and I did not smash it, or flee, I shooed it away… another first for me…

pets-4

under the eucalyptus tree

Après le dîner, we went inside, bonding further with the children… and their pets…

pets-2

Cats are unpredictable, they always move, or they ham it up, you never know what they will do…

pets-3

pet gerbil, I forgot his name

With accelerating alarm, I gawked as one of the twins reached in for his pet gerbil. Initial reaction, I’m getting out of here, tout de suite. Then the silent conversation in ma têteThis boy is seven. I am surrounded by people who love me. What am I afraid of exactly in this circumstance? Take advantage of feeling safe. Go for it. What can happen? 

Europe-03507

YIKES! For those who know me… THIS WAS NEVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER gong to happen… NEVER EVER NEVER EVER NEVER EVER NEVER EVER…

pets-4

I AM HOLDING A RODENT!!!!!!!!

Back at home…
Living in New York City, one may think that I would be unaffected by rodents, but mice scare me. I’m jumpy, nervous, and startled by sudden movements. (I think I saw one last night, and I completely freaked… I say think because as soon as I can’t find something, I’m convinced that ‘robbers’ live in my closet, just to ‘steal’ my stuff… really?) I don’t care that mice are small and afraid of me, I don’t care!!!!!!!! But I am capable of facing fears… I ate outside, I slept outside, I HELD A GERBIL… I was “never never ever” going to touch any rodent, including pets. Just wasn’t going to happen. BUT IT DID, proving once again that anything is possible and never say never. Am I still afraid? You bet’cha! But, one baby-step is still a step…. and THAT was more than a baby-step for me…

When you are in a supportive, loving environment, you can do things that you thought you’d never do...

Living Authentically.

About Tacey

I'm a free-spirit... Reiki is my way of life... but I also love the 80's, music, art, travel, fashion, tarot, astrology, numerology, yoga, home stuff... and encouraging others. Blogging, photography, and baking bread are my creative outlets... Life isn't always easy for me... but I'm here...
This entry was posted in Humor/Fun, Life Lessons, Lifestyle, Love, Observations, Photography, Self Improvement, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another ‘never say never’ moment in Alès… (and the reality back home)

  1. wherethedaytakesme says:

    Cool photos. Wow, face those fears and go forward.

Leave a Reply

