relationships as mirrors (check yourself before you wreck yourself)

I received an email from a friend, thanking me for a note I sent her… She wrote, You are the best… I responded, I’m not the best… I only mirror how people treat me… so you’re the best… I never thought about it before. The other person, in a way, sets the scene and stage. Not that they provide the script or have power over my actions… rather, I am approachable first and foremost, then automatically follow your lead. For example, if you accept me, why wouldn’t I accept you? If you partly accept me, then I will partly accept you. If inwardly you harbor resentments towards me, then eventually, my actions shift to include what is bubbling beneath the surface. Issues then seem to materialize and I don’t know what to do but lash out. However, (I say this with confidence) when I am harsh, it is for a reason other than I’m just a mean old witch! Even though I interpret emotions accurately, I am not a mind reader, and there is a difference. I like to believe I have powers (which I do not)… so how precisely could I GUESS someone else’s feelings based on MY perceptions? But now that I am aware, I want to be honest and admit to issues as they arise… and advance from that point. Rather than playing games (which can lead to irreparable results… like I did many times in the past), isn’t candor the more effective approach to a conflict? Before reacting in the usual way, with over-sensitivity (on a scale from 1-10, registering at 200 on the REACT-O-METER), I now recognize my triggers and can re-examine my attitude. This is the first step to liberation from my automatic defenses cemented in my brain. As Ice Cube said, Ch- chickity- check yo self (yourself) before you wreck yo self (yourself)…

By, analyzing my exchanges with others, I see how relationships serve as mirrors to my inner world and expose truth…

Living Authentically.

About Tacey

I'm a free-spirit... Reiki is my way of life... but I also love the 80's, music, art, travel, fashion, tarot, astrology, numerology, yoga, home stuff... and encouraging others. Blogging, photography, and baking bread are my creative outlets... Life isn't always easy for me... but I'm here...
This entry was posted in Communication, Life Lessons, Lifestyle, Observations, Random Thoughts, Relationships, Self Improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to relationships as mirrors (check yourself before you wreck yourself)

  1. wherethedaytakesme says:

    It is definitely a mirror. Especially what you said about the harboring of resentments. True, woman, very true. It is a learning lesson. Great post.

  2. Joel says:

    Great insight!!

Leave a Reply

