an immediate opportunity

I’m all about living authentically, right? A few hours after I posted on Monday, the universe presented me with an immediate opportunity to practice what I preach. I am holding mail for a friend, temporarily, but indefinitely. When he asked if I am still compliant with the arrangement, I told the truth. It isn’t a problem, but it is inconvenient… but I’ll tell you when it becomes an issue. I didn’t over-explain, nor was I apologetic for how I feel. (So ridiculous that people always want to debate me on my reasons, but even more ridiculous is that I used to acquiesce!) Any resentment that was building…. eradicated. By telling the truth in the moment, I dodged what could have later turned into unnecessary drama. Yay me!

On another note….. I am hesitant to announce this project because I may chicken out, or get bored, or change my mind… (all of which I can still do…) But I would like to take a photo of myself (at least weekly)… and post it. It forever amazes me how my friends are constantly taking photos of themselves and actually enjoying it. While all I can see are my imperfections and avoid having my picture taken. (Although hard to do when your partner is a photographer and I’m around other creatives…) Am I just going to walk around self-loathing forever? NO! So, I created this challenge to abandon my comfort zone… convinced this will lead to priceless discoveries….

photo-59

Self-portrait #2

I am fully aware that my issue is not about outer beauty. But, in time this exercise will nudge me (hopefully, thrust me) down the path of self-acceptance.

Living Authentically.

About Tacey

I'm a free-spirit... Reiki is my way of life... but I also love the 80's, music, art, travel, fashion, tarot, astrology, numerology, yoga, home stuff... and encouraging others. Blogging, photography, and baking bread are my creative outlets... Life isn't always easy for me... but I'm here...
This entry was posted in Beauty, Communication, Hobbies, Lifestyle, Philosophies, Photography, Relationships, Self Improvement and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to an immediate opportunity

  1. wherethedaytakesme says:

    I love self portraits, I always have difficulty when I take photos of myself, but I keep on keeping on, you keep on keeping on yourself as well. God Bless. 🙂

  2. Kareen says:

    You look great and I’m really glad that you’re doing this! I am also very self-conscious about my photos and I only see my imperfections. But I am trying to change that and accept myself for all my imperfections AND good qualities. I even wrote a blog post about relaxing around the camera: http://www.ziba-blog.com/2012/11/22/ms-strangelove-or-how-i-learned-to-stop-worrying-and-love-the-camera/. I’m still not completely there yet though.

Leave a Reply

