Hurricane Sandy: Aftermath in Brooklyn

I feel more vulnerable than ever, 9/11 left a gaping hole and now Hurricane Sandy. It isn’t just a news story. (But it never is just a news story with me.) This storm affected everyone I know in some way (because we are all connected)….. all of this sending me into another emotional tailspin. A high school classmate’s house burned down in Breezy Point, Queens. But not only her house…. her sister’s house….. and her mom’s house – THREE houses – everything gone, total devastation. As much as I dislike Facebook, at times, it can serve a purpose. Annie M. sent out a group message quickly and efficiently to rally the girls. I have NO DOUBT that every one of us will help. (After all, my mother didn’t pay for twelve years of Catholic school for nothing!) And so on with the stories….. Most friends are helping out in any way…. donations and volunteering…. I am hosting grounded Berliners.

This fall season is emotionally packed for various reasons. But finally I see more compassion and love. If you can’t do anything at this time, at least send out healing thoughts. We are New Yorkers, translation: We are resilient!

But why does it take a tragedy for us to pull together?

Living Authentically.

About Tacey

I'm a free-spirit... Reiki is my way of life... but I also love the 80's, music, art, travel, fashion, tarot, astrology, numerology, yoga, home stuff... and encouraging others. Blogging, photography, and baking bread are my creative outlets... Life isn't always easy for me... but I'm here...
This entry was posted in Brooklyn, Dwelling, Lifestyle, Love, Observations, Philosophies, Photography, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hurricane Sandy: Aftermath in Brooklyn

  1. wherethedaytakesme says:

    Keeping all affected in my prayers. Be safe.

Leave a Reply

