Memorials serve as reminders

Hurricane Sandy stranded two lovely Berliners now staying with me until their flight home. (My mind is always partly outside of the Divided States.) These photos were taken at the Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe in Berlin, Germany. While ascertaining the proper name, I grabbed this from Wikipedia: According to Eisenman’s project text, the stelae are designed to produce an uneasy, confusing atmosphere, and the whole sculpture aims to represent a supposedly ordered system that has lost touch with human reason.


Through my travels, my blog world, and other personal exchanges, I am constantly expanding my viewpoint. EVERYDAY I learn something new. Knowledge is power, so I love dismantling my prejudices and incorrect assumptions….. further challenging my brain to process new information. My experiences lead me to say that we are more alike than the media portrays. I constantly recall a conversation with a new friend I met in Berlin, a fellow New Yorker. We discussed politics, religion….. life. He said, “… I would never have survived the Holocaust…. I’m Jewish, gay, and I have a slight disability…..” and we smirked knowingly. Why would someone not like my new friend for any of these reasons? He is so funny and real. All the intolerance is making me blue. My friends wish that I would accept that this is the way the world is and move on from this obsession. But I can’t, I suffer because I don’t understand. I’m forever stuck with my childlike view, why can’t we all just live and let live. I don’t feel naive. But, sadly, maybe I am. I’m assuming (which I shouldn’t do) that we all want the basics in life…. LOVE and ACCEPTANCE. To be loved, to give love, and just BE! (And food, shelter, clothes, of course….) I choose to enrich my life by sharing and learning with others unlike myself. Why waste time and energy honing in on our differences when we can enjoy our similarities? I have to detach from the negativity in the news, the media period…… again!!!! I’m losing hope in the world. But, instead of complaining (which does nothing), I choose to flip this and be a part of the positive change. My life improves with each person that I accept and love, so I’ll continue. But I can’t help wondering…. is all this hate a precursor to the next civil or world war? Do we not remember what hate produces? The concrete slabs encapsulate how I feel: befuddled, unbalanced, out of sorts….

Living Authentically.

About Tacey

I'm a free-spirit... Reiki is my way of life... but I also love the 80's, music, art, travel, fashion, tarot, astrology, numerology, yoga, home stuff... and encouraging others. Blogging, photography, and baking bread are my creative outlets... Life isn't always easy for me... but I'm here...
This entry was posted in Lifestyle, Love, Observations, Philosophies, Photography, Random Thoughts, Relationships, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Memorials serve as reminders

  1. McVeggy says:

    Amazing pictures, esp the one of you sitting on them. That needs to be framed and publisehd hugely so.

Leave a Reply

