The Accidental Quest: The Eiffel Tower, Part 1

It’s the first evening in Paris…. I’m weary from changing trains all day, really wanting to sleep. But with camera in hand (not my hand, David’s hand) and no specific plan, I take off for the next adventure. I’m digging the vibe in Montparnasse and I stop at a large rond-point (rotaryto soak it all in. Turn to the left and BAM! The Eiffel Tower is shimmering in the far distance.

Like a child with a one-track mind, I fixate on the pretty sparkles. Immediately, I start walking towards it, I have to see it up close. I look again…. and it disappears, gone in an instant.

It was just there! Was it an illusion? Where is it? I didn’t have a plan before, but now the destination is clear: Find the Eiffel Tower. How far can it be? So I march in that general direction…. north, south, east or west? No clue, nor do I care. I’m in a haze crossing the street. Then I catch a glimpse of it again, peeking out, enticing me.

The sky changes from a medley of purples, pinks, and blues… melting into brilliant hues of sapphires.

Blue, yellow, green.

The Eiffel Tower beckons.

It doesn’t occur to me to ask anyone for directions, or to refer to a map, or to take Le Métro – Hell, I don’t even know what time it is! I’m in a zone now, on a mission….

…. an accidental quest to find La Tour Eiffel..….

Living Authentically.

About Tacey

I'm a free-spirit... Reiki is my way of life... but I also love the 80's, music, art, travel, fashion, tarot, astrology, numerology, yoga, home stuff... and encouraging others. Blogging, photography, and baking bread are my creative outlets... Life isn't always easy for me... but I'm here...
This entry was posted in Beauty, Hobbies, Observations, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Accidental Quest: The Eiffel Tower, Part 1

  1. McVeggy says:

    Nice. I like this. And it sounds like a children’s book — I mean, it could be rewritten into a children’s picture book. 🙂

  2. Joel says:

    Great shots…I’m re-living your trip.

Leave a Reply

