Sunday morning with DJ Rockwell never disappoints…. and contemplation of space

Listening to Rockwell who is killing it this morning with his mixes, as always…. nice old school throw backs…. He mentioned….”deadbeat dads….man up!!!!” LOVE HIM!!!!!! He speaks his truth, he lives his truth…. My Sundays are not the same when I can’t listen. So today, creative energies wafting through the apartment….. ideas are coming fast and furious after another fabulous week…. he inspires me…..

GET YA FLIPPY FLOPPIES RIGHT!!! It’s your SOUNDTRACK FOR SUNDAY, 8am to 11am (EST)…93.7lpFM on MVY or STREAMING WORLDWIDE at WVVY.ORG!!! 508-693-9379

I spend considerable time at home, entertaining almost daily. Friends are always welcome to drop by at any time, and they invariably do. Our space definitely represents who we are, but I always tweak it as we evolve. Our home announces our current state of mind. It is a mirror of our souls, what we choose to display (or hide) can tell our story. This apartment is a complete collaboration and true reflection of us, individually and as a couple. Sharing input inspires the other to push through conventional thinking. With very little money, we are transforming our home with cool, creative solutions. Although I make most of the very detailed decisions (like choosing between colors… brick, terra-cotta, or ginger…ivory, cream, or bone, they are all different obviously), I also want my partner’s personality equally prominent in our home….

The den/office/alternative guest space is basically turning into a baseball shrine…. but NOT tacky, you know when people go way overboard with a theme? This room will be tastefully done, with an understated impact. I FINALLY bought this cubby at Pottery Barn. I’ve looked at this for about nine months. NINE MONTHS living in my shopping cart! Perhaps I will paint the room in grassy greens and mound ground browns…. (Hahaha, I just made that up!) My dream is to do a mural on one wall or two, of maybe a baseball field somehow…. if I can dream it, it can happen….. this will be my hubby’s personal space. He doesn’t have to escape his own home for a relaxing atmosphere. Since I’m helping to create it, I can love it, too! 

Do you feel rejuvenated from your space? Does it show who you are now? Why get married to a particular style, object-placement, layout, color scheme……? Simply consider your surroundings, does it represent the real you? Start by going into each area, spend time to study what is prominent … notice your feelings and reactions… look at everything, touch everything. Also notice the stressful areas and the clutter… Honor your true self. Is everything beautiful and or necessary? What is truly sentimental? What is current??

According to Feng Shui principles, we should move 27 objects in our home when we feel stagnant. Moving a lamp will not do anything to pay bills, but indirectly it can offer a different perspective, leading to a new idea…. which leads to…. WHO KNOWS, BE OPEN…..And by sorting through the clutter, you may find the creative surge you need.

Be bold, venture out of your comfort zone, at your own pace because this should be fun! Maybe look at photos, end tables, lamps, rugs, mirrors, art… put something away, take something out, create a different grouping… and if you don’t like it, move it again… We just moved our wedding photo from a focal point in the living room into our bedroom because although we like the picture, it doesn’t even resemble us anymore. I just switched the curtains around the apartment. I introduced a new colors into rooms without spending a penny!

Who you are now or who you would like to become? Don’t buy anything yet, contemplate and play with what you have……

Living Authentically.

About Tacey

I'm a free-spirit... Reiki is my way of life... but I also love the 80's, music, art, travel, fashion, tarot, astrology, numerology, yoga, home stuff... and encouraging others. Blogging, photography, and baking bread are my creative outlets... Life isn't always easy for me... but I'm here...
This entry was posted in Brooklyn, Dwelling, Hobbies, Lifestyle, Music, Relationships and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

