J.Crew Chronicles: calf hair shoes: minus two, plus one

I finally decided to part with my beautiful calf hair Mary Jane’s, AND my favorite run around shoe, the calf hair ballet flats, very ratty and very old. I held on to those shoes because everything I like is too expensive, cheap-looking, or are too painful to wear. Why replace my beloved J.Crew shoes with an “inferior” brand? I’ve always been obsessed with calf-hair and leopard print since the 80’s. And J.Crew never fails to offer choices of understated boldness with color, texture, and quality…. just like me!

I am going on vacation in a few weeks, prompting me to assess footwear. Workout sneakers are never an option for comfort unless I am working out. I’ll be in Europe, wanting to immerse in culture, not announce that I’m American! Now don’t get me wrong, I am FULLY aware that clothes don’t make the man…. but shoes do make the woman!!! No, seriously, fashion and shopping are my passions. Through self-awareness, I finally know my style and how to own it. J.Crew is so classic preppie and that’s a part of who I am since 1987. That said, it is time to get realistic about shoes. We will undoubtedly walk a lot and I don’t want sore feet… detracting from my experience… totally avoidable by making better choices.

My gorgeous Mary-Janes…. you gals make every outfit absolutely fabulous. BUT you are too high and pinchy-pinchy, causing my feet to hurt only after one hour. I kept you around because you help stroke my ego, eliciting many compliments when I was blue. You are a bit bold, but work with every outfit. But the thought of traipsing around the subway and possibly falling on the tracks (crazy fear) is always the deterrent for wearing you more often. Please understand that I so badly wanted to rock you out forever! You are sexy, no doubt, but I can’t keep up the charade. The farce is over. Good bye, Mary-Janes, I love so much, we had good times, but I must let you go…. I know you will make someone else extremely happy…..

On another note, what prompted this post, is that it took a RECORD FIVE MINUTES to order shoes. Last weekend, I had these in my cart for thirty minutes and they sold out! Not this time. Lesson learned. Seize the moment. The Collection Nora calf hair ballet flats are on its way!!! My obsessions pay off and my size reappeared. I knew it was time to toss the shabby shoes, I think they’re six or seven years old. As soon I relinquish the old, I create space for the new… those shoes weren’t even online yesterday! (Yeah, I check it at least three times daily.)

In with the new… this is exactly what I needed… so exciting!!!!!!!!!

Living Authentically.

About Tacey

I'm a free-spirit... Reiki is my way of life... but I also love the 80's, music, art, travel, fashion, tarot, astrology, numerology, yoga, home stuff... and encouraging others. Blogging, photography, and baking bread are my creative outlets... Life isn't always easy for me... but I'm here...
This entry was posted in Fashion, J.Crew, Lifestyle, Shoes, Shopping and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

