cleanin’ out my closet…

My husband and I have settled in a routine and tradition for the New Year. We stay home and watch Twilight Zone episodes (the originals) and toast with champagne at midnight. We always tidy and at least change sheets and towels. But the yearly clear out officially commences on January 1st. Each room and every inch of the apartment gets dusted, cleaned, washed, and sorted through. Even the walls get washed. It should take about a month to get it all done. But well worth it. I swear residual energy from disharmony resides in the muck and dust and eventually around the end of the year, I lack creativity. When we clean and move everything around, it revitalizes our lives.

This year, I started with the bedroom closet, sorting through all clothes, shoes, and accessories. I was honestly hoping to afford a stylist to help with a major makeover, but it is clear that this is another “excavation of self” that I must do alone. True to the zodiac sign of Cancer, I am super sentimental and hold on to everything, but I am also sensitive to the very subtle energies that radiate from everything.

As I go through every piece of clothing, I now realize that my true fashion sense has always been a manifestation of how I dressed in the 80’s… How many collar shirts can I wear at one time? (“Nolan Ross” of ABC’s Revenge is my hero!)

Outside packaging shouldn’t matter, but we all make presumptions based on appearances. Why do I prefer to hide behind some pale version of myself? This is why I never feel completely at ease when strictly following the latest fashion trends, I feel awkward because it isn’t authentically me.

My closet is getting bare, but I absolutely love what is left. Gone is all the stuff that never feels quite right, but gets put back into the closet for some reason… anything stained or ill-fitting is gone… all clothing that is remotely tethered to any negative experience is gone…

Glaring consistencies are left: loafers, oxfords, collared shirts, argyle, animal print, pink, ballet flats, converse sneakers… very comforting, very me. But I rediscovered my love for lingerie, lace, silk, and ruffle… immediately recognizing the influence of Prince (my husband is down for further exploration of this) and I also rediscovered my love of textured skirts and colorful wigs. How could I forget about that side of me?

It is fun playing dress up… listening to music, taking time for myself, clearing, and creating new combinations…

For the past 2 years I obsessed over defining my look and style, always trying to emulate someone else… All I had to do was dig deep and get real. I am ready to reveal this new/old self.

Creativity is flourishing again… and the ability to make bolder moves… a step closer to …

Living Authentically.

Cleanin’ Out My Closet

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
“Cleanin’ Out My Closet”

Cleanin’ Out My Closet” is a song by American rapper Eminem released in 2002. It was from his worldwide hit album, The Eminem Show and was later re-released in 2005 for Eminem’s greatest hits album Curtain Call: The Hits. “Cleanin’ Out My Closet” was the second single released from the album following “Without Me“. However, unlike the preceding single Eminem departed from his humorous Slim Shady persona to take observers on a solemn journey into a deeply personal reservoir of fury and pain. It became the second top-ten single from the album (reaching #4 on the United States Billboard Hot 100) and one of the highest-charting singles of his career.This song was also used for the 1st trailer that was released in winter 2001 for the hit movie 8 Mile.

About Tacey

I'm a free-spirit... Reiki is my way of life... but I also love the 80's, music, art, travel, fashion, tarot, astrology, numerology, yoga, home stuff... and encouraging others. Blogging, photography, and baking bread are my creative outlets... Life isn't always easy for me... but I'm here...
This entry was posted in Dwelling, Fashion, Lifestyle, Music, Random Thoughts, Self Improvement, Shoes, Shopping, The 80's. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

