The Big Cleanout

December 31st of 2010, we watched the “Twilight Zone” marathon, a tradition. We were feeling a little lazy, very grateful, but a little anxious about the upcoming new year, the unknown. So the other tradition of cleaning was on hold for one more day.

January 1, 2011 we started on the big clean out. We cleaned everything and stuff was also replaced, reorganized, resorted, and/or simplified: books, games, DVDs, CDs, photos, clothes, closets, drawers, bins, cabinets. This feat was not accomplished in one day of course, but about a month for a very thorough cleaning.

And soon so many things in all aspects of my life  became so clear to me… the cleaning helped to clear the cobwebs in my brain… I thought of solutions, I let go of emotional and physically clutter and grime. Assessments made: Did I really need to keep all 10 boxes of  VHS tapes of bh 90210 that I taped off the TV? I didn’t even have a VCR at that point.  And this is a Brooklyn apartment, limited space– what do I eventually want my home to look like?? Decision made, out with old. I am a total believer in Feng Shui and space clearing and energies. If I wanted to make room for new possibilities I had to discard old ideas and the old me as well.

This process initiated the changes…

And it is November, almost time for the big clean again…

About Tacey

I'm a free-spirit... Reiki is my way of life... but I also love the 80's, music, art, travel, fashion, tarot, astrology, numerology, yoga, home stuff... and encouraging others. Blogging, photography, and baking bread are my creative outlets... Life isn't always easy for me... but I'm here...
This entry was posted in Brooklyn, Dwelling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

