Follow the Leader

I always loved the comfort of my home– even though it was usually a small city apartment. As a little girl, I had the best time rearranging the furniture and I enjoyed cleaning (when I wasn’t being told to do so). My friends made fun of me because I was always “organizing”. It brought me a sense of peace where there was none in my mind and around me at times.  This is also the quintessential Cancerian zodiac trait in me.

But it was my mother who cultivated my wish for the finer things in life. She always bought nice linens and towels. Always soft, always good quality.  Scratchy sheets and non-absorbent towels were a big no-no in my household.  She passed that along to me.  We completely changed the shower curtains and bathroom rugs quite often. She did not want anything “raggy”. To replace something and upgrade and not try to clean it seemed very normal to me.

When I was growing up, I looked forward to the major yearly cleaning on or around December 31st, and if money permitted, my mom would buy new sheets and towels and bathroom curtains and rugs. She said, “Start the year with something fresh, new and upbeat.” It was a lot of hard work to clean every room from top to bottom, but well worth the results.

We drank champagne in the crystal glasses to ring in the new year.  I was always allowed to use them year-round and unsupervised.  I thought it was completely normal that a six-year-old would be using out of crystal glasses for champagne or orange juice.

My love of entertaining, my affinity for luxury linens, my attention to etiquette, and even the art of gift wrapping come from her.  I learned to write thank you notes from age three. I watched everything that she did and absorbed it. I followed her lead because I did not know any other way. But it was also instinctual, and very much who I am today…

About Tacey

I'm a free-spirit... Reiki is my way of life... but I also love the 80's, music, art, travel, fashion, tarot, astrology, numerology, yoga, home stuff... and encouraging others. Blogging, photography, and baking bread are my creative outlets... Life isn't always easy for me... but I'm here...
This entry was posted in Dwelling, Lifestyle. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

